127 Quarry Road, Suite 1 Kutztown, Pa 19530 | 610-683-6518
Maxatawny Township

Other Boards/Commissions

Maxatawny Township Zoning Hearing Board
The Zoning Hearing Board is a semi-judicial body, consisting of three members, all of whom are residents of the Township. Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve 3 year terms. During their tenure, members of the Zoning Hearing Board are not permitted to hold any other office in the Township.

The purpose of the Zoning Hearing Board is to help assure fair and equitable application and administration of the Zoning Ordinance by hearing appeals of the Zoning Officer's decisions and by granting relief from the literal enforcement of the ordinance in certain hardship situations. The Board schedules hearings on applications and appeals, hears evidence, and issues written decisions or findings of fact.

The Zoning Hearing Board meets upon applications received.

Questions concerning a Zoning Variance Application should be directed to the Code Enforcement Officer at (610) 683-6518 during normal business hours.

Gary Englehardt - Chairman
Gerald Reimert
Cynthia Hil - Alternate
Ken Franke - Alternate

Building Code Appeals Board
An Appeals Board has been established for the purpose of hearing appeals from permits issued, enforcement notices issued, determinations rendered and for the purpose of hearing requests for modifications and waivers permitted to be granted, all pursuant to the authority contained in certain ordinances, codes and regulations of the Township of Maxatawny, including the Maxatawny Township Building Code and the UCC, as amended from time to time, and all regulations issued pursuant thereto, and the On-Lot Sewage Management Ordinance as amended.

Jason Fegley - Chairman
Derek Keim
Marcus Simonetti
Roger Becker

Every other year, the electors of the Township shall elect one auditor to serve a term of six years from the first Monday of January after the election. Auditors shall reside in the Township and shall have resided in the Township continuously for at least one year immediately preceding their election. No auditor shall at the same time hold any other elective or appointive Township Office or position.

Walter Hess - Chairman
James Gdowik
Norman Adam

Agricutural Security Committee
The Agricultural Security Committee is a five member committee who are residents of the Township and meet periodically on matters pertaining to farming and agriculture. The primary function of the committee is to review farming and agriculture. The primary function of the committee is to review applications for inclusion in the Township Agricultural Security District and recommend appropriate action to the Board of Supervisors.

Raymond Hoover
Harry Weaver
John Brubaker
Ted Ormai
Allen Leiby

Historic Commission
The Historic Commission meeting starts at 2:00 pm. Meetings are held at Maxatawny Township Municipal Building 127 Quarry Road, Kutztown, PA 19530 the first Monday of the month. No meetings in July or September.

Rob Reynolds - Chairman
Ethan Boyer - Vice Chairman
Brenda Winkler
Hermann Winkler
Carl Peterson
Brendan Strasser
Tory Bieber

© Maxatawny Township